England’s World Cup squad for 2023 Cricket World Cup

England Announces Final Squad for 2023 Cricket World Cup. Young sensation forces his way into England’s World Cup squad.

England Announces Final Squad for 2023 Cricket World Cup

England has officially unveiled its 15-member squad for the highly anticipated 2023 Cricket World Cup, set to kick off next month. The squad boasts notable changes from the provisional selection announced earlier, with one key alteration capturing the spotlight.

In their initial provisional squad announcement, England had made some strategic choices. The return of the dynamic all-rounder, Ben Stokes, was one such decision that garnered attention. However, the omission of the promising young batter, Harry Brook, and the star quick bowler, Jofra Archer, raised eyebrows.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: India vs Sri Lanka, Final – Live Cricket Score, Commentary

The narrative took an unexpected turn as Jason Roy, an integral part of the team, was sidelined due to back spasms, causing him to miss the recent four-match series against New Zealand.

Consequently, this development paved the way for Harry Brook’s comeback into the One Day International (ODI) squad. While Brook’s performance in the New Zealand series was somewhat lackluster, with scores of 25, 2, and 10, his rapid progression as an international cricketer justified his inclusion in the final squad.

Jason Roy, having registered two centuries in just six ODIs in 2023, remains a potent candidate for inclusion in the squad set to face Ireland in an upcoming fixture. The last date for squad alterations before the World Cup is September 28th, leaving room for potential adjustments.

Meanwhile, Ben Stokes, who made a remarkable return from ODI retirement, made headlines with his spectacular knock of 182 runs off 124 balls against New Zealand. This incredible performance marked the highest score by an England men’s player in ODIs, further enhancing his reputation as a game-changer.

Additionally, Dawid Malan solidified his place in the XI during the New Zealand series, clinching the top spot in the run charts and notching his fifth ODI century. Adil Rashid, despite playing only one match in the New Zealand series due to cramps, has been cleared to join the World Cup squad.

In contrast, seamer Mark Wood is currently recovering from a sore heel he incurred during the Ashes series. As a result, he has yet to make a competitive appearance since the final Ashes Test.

Luke Wright, the England Men’s National Selector, expressed confidence in the squad’s capabilities, emphasizing their readiness to vie for victory in India. He noted, “We have selected a squad we are confident can go to India and win the World Cup.”

Wright also acknowledged the wealth of talent among England’s white-ball players, underscoring their exceptional performance in the series against a formidable New Zealand team. The tough decisions made, including the exclusion of Jason Roy and the inclusion of Harry Brook, reflect the strength and depth of England’s cricketing talent pool.

England’s World Cup squad for the 2023 Cricket World Cup:

  • Jos Buttler (Captain)
  • Moeen Ali
  • Gus Atkinson
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Sam Curran
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Dawid Malan
  • Adil Rashid
  • Joe Root
  • Harry Brook
  • Ben Stokes
  • Reece Topley
  • David Willey
  • Mark Wood
  • Chris Woakes

visit: https://www.icc-cricket.com/