Ph.D. Programme In CCMB, Hyderabad

Ph.D. Programme In CCMB, Hyderabad. Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad invites applications for admission into Ph.D. Programme- January 2024.

Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad, invites applications from candidates who are Indian citizens, to pursue research in modern biology leading to a Ph.D. Degree.

The projects offered for Ph.D. would be in the broad areas of

  • Cell Biology,
  • Molecular Biology,
  • Genetics,
  • Genomics,
  • Developmental Biology,
  • Plant Molecular Biology,
  • Conservation Biology,
  • Ecology,
  • Protein Structure and Function,
  • Biology of Macromolecules,
  • Biology of Infection,
  • Immunology,
  • Epigenetics,
  • Chromatin Biology and
  • Bioinformatics.

Also Read: Ph.D. Entrance Test 2023 for DU, JNU, BHU and BBAU

Research Themes: Ph.D. Programme In CCMB, Hyderabad

Research at CCMB can be grouped under the following broad themes:

  • Developmental Biology
  • Structural Biology
  • Genomics and Epigenetic Regulation
  • Cell and Stem Cell Biology
  • Microbes and Biology of Infection
  • Wildlife Conservation and Ecology
  • Crop Improvement
  • Innovation and Technology Development

The leads emerging from our fundamental research are being channelled into developing technologies for societal benefit.

A. Eligibility Criteria for Applying

Masters degree in any branch of Science with minimum 55% marks (without rounding off) or equivalent grade for General (UR)/General-EWS and minimum 50% marks (without rounding off) or equivalent grade for OBC (NCL)/SC/ST, Third gender and Persons with Disability (PwD).

The applicant should have a valid National-level Fellowship (JRF/ SRF of any funding agency, e.g. CSIR, UGC, DBT, DST, etc.) or any other equivalent fellowship like DBT-BET, INSPIRE, RGNF, etc. (TENABLE AT ALL AcSIR ACADEMIC CENTRE.

Candidates who satisfy the above criteria may submit their applications online by 17.09.2023 through this LINK.

B. Selection Process: Ph.D. Programme In CCMB, Hyderabad

1. Online applications will be screened and eligible candidates will be called for a computer-based written test at one of their preferred centers, or a remote proctored online test on 08.10.2023.

2. Candidates qualifying in the test and having a valid FELLOWSHIP for pursuing Ph.D. will be shortlisted to appear for in-person interview at CCMB in the last week of October 2023. This interview would be of two rounds across two separate days.

A valid fellowship is an ABSOLUTE requirement for pursuing Ph.D. at CCMB, and the eligible fellowships are:

• Any National level fellowship (JRF/SRF of CSIR, UGC, DBT, ICMR, etc.), DST-INSPIRE or any other equivalent fellowship for pursuing Ph.D.


• The applicant must first register with AcSIR and choose CSIR-CCMB Ph.D. program as one of the options before applying to CSIR-CCMB.

• The fellowship MUST be valid by the time of joining (January 2024).

• Candidates with lecturer-ship only in CSIR-UGC (NET) examination will not be shortlisted for interview.

• Candidates will have to make their OWN arrangements for travel, stay, etc. at the examination centre and/or in Hyderabad for interviews (2-3 days). Travelling allowance is not payable by CCMB.

• Candidates qualifying both preliminary and the final interview will be selected for pursuing a Ph.D. at CCMB. Mere fulfillment of the minimum requirements stipulated in the notification would not automatically entitle a person for selection. The decision of CCMB in this regard shall be final. Canvassing in any form and/or bringing in any influence, political or otherwise, will be treated as a disqualification.

• For inquiries, contact: [email protected]

• Please check the website regularly for updates.

Faculty: CCMB, Hyderabad

A S SreedharAjay GaurAmitabha ChattopadhyayAnant B Patel
Arvind KumarDivya Tej SowpatiG R ChandakG Umapathy
Hitendra Kumar PatelImran SiddiqiJahnavi JoshiJyotsna Dhawan
K ThangarajKarthikeyan VasudevanKrishnan H HarshanMandar V Deshmukh
Manjula ReddyMegha KumarMeghna KrishnadasMukesh Lodha
P Chandra ShekarPavithra L ChavaliPuran Singh SijwaliR Sankaranarayanan
Raghunand R TirumalaiRakesh K MishraRegalla KumaraswamySaikat Chowdhury
Santosh KumarShrish TiwariSonal Nagarkar JaiswalSwasti Raychaudhuri
Tushar Vaidya (Superannuated)Venkat R. ChalamcharlaVinay K Nandicoori


Habsiguda, Uppal Road, Hyderabad-500 007, TS, India