India’s squad for first two Tests announced

India’s squad for first two Tests against England announced. India’s squad for first two Tests announced.

BCCI announces India’s squad for 2 ENG Tests: No Shami, Kishan. India squad for England Tests announced; Dhruv Jurel gets first call.

England’s tour of India, 2023-24.

India’s squad for first two Tests announced

The Indian Men’s Selection Committee has revealed the squad for the initial two Tests against England. The upcoming Test series, comprising five matches, is scheduled to commence in Hyderabad on January 25, 2024.

India’s squad for first two Tests announced

Squad for first 2 Tests vs England: 

  1. Rohit Sharma (C),
  2. Shubman Gill,
  3. Yashasvi Jaiswal,
  4. Virat Kohli,
  5. Shreyas Iyer,
  6. KL Rahul (WK),
  7. KS Bharat (WK),
  8. Dhruv Jurel (WK),
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin,
  10. Ravindra Jadeja,
  11. Axar Patel,
  12. Kuldeep Yadav,
  13. Mohd. Siraj,
  14. Mukesh Kumar,
  15. Jasprit Bumrah (VC),
  16. Avesh Khan

England’s Tour of India, 2023-24 – Test series

Sr. No.DateMatchVenue
125th – 29th January1st TestHyderabad
22nd – 6th February2nd TestVizag
315th  – 19th February3rd TestRajkot
423rd – 27th February4th TestRanchi
57th – 11th March5th TestDharamsala

Four spinners, uncapped wicketkeeper named in India’s squad for first two England Tests. India have named their squad for the first two Test matches of the home series against England.

India has selected a formidable Test squad for the initial two matches of the ICC World Test Championship series against England, emphasizing a spin-heavy approach. The squad includes experienced spinners Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Kuldeep Yadav.

In addition to the spin arsenal, the team boasts a robust pace attack featuring vice-captain Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Avesh Khan. This pace contingent played crucial roles in the Tests during the South Africa tour.

Notably, Mohammed Shami is still on the path to recovery from his injury, and Ishan Kishan, who had requested a break during the South Africa tour and Afghanistan T20Is, has not been included in the squad. The Test squad presents a familiar and potent combination of seasoned spinners and talented pacers, setting the stage for an exciting clash in the upcoming series against England.

With Kishan unavailable, the uncapped wicketkeeper-batsman Dhruv Jurel has been included in the squad. Alongside him, KL Rahul and KS Bharat will also be serving as wicketkeepers in the lineup.

Dhruv Jurel, who served as the vice-captain of the India U19 squad that reached the finals of the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup four years ago, brings promising talent to the team.

The batting lineup maintains its consistency, featuring Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul, and Shubman Gill in the middle order. Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal have been designated as the openers in the squad.

The five-match Test series begins on January 25 in Hyderabad.